About

Register

“What we do today, defines our Australia tomorrow.”

– Michael Combs, Founder of CareerSeekers and CareerTrackers

About

CareerSeekers is a non-profit organisation supporting Australia’s humanitarian entrants into professional careers. Our program provides in-depth preparation and support to both refugees and people seeking asylum who are either currently studying at university, or looking to restart their professional career in Australia.

Our program supports two distinct groups of asylum seekers and refugees:

  • Mid-career Professionals – those with tertiary qualifications and professional work experience from their country of origin, who strive to re-establish their careers in Australia. These participants undertake paid internships lasting twelve weeks that provide local experience, a local reference and help them establish a network within their chosen profession.
  • University students – full-time university students who undertake paid internships during university breaks in an effort to link their studies with practical work experience. The CareerSeekers university program aligns to existing corporate internship programs.

In 2015, Founder of CareerTrackers, Michael Combs, sought to expand the successful model he had established to support pre-professional Indigenous university students. With the establishment of CareerSeekers, corporate Australia’s focus on multicultural diversity was applied to tackle the issue of underemployment of asylum seekers and refugees.

CareerSeekers is endorsed as an Item 1 Deductible Gift Recipient organisation

CareerSeekers explained

Our Board

Penny Graham (Chair)
Independent Director

Michael Greene
Deputy Managing Partner
Norton Rose Fullbright

 

Dorothy Hoddinott AO
Education Sector

Nyadol Nyuon
Lawyer and community advocate
 

Edward Santow
Human Rights Commissioner
Australian Human Rights Commission

Advisory Committee

Ian Narev
Group COO and CEO of Asia Pacific and Americas of SEEK

Our Team

Michael Combs

Founder

Lynn Anderson

General Manager
lynn.anderson@cs.org.au

Carolyn Sykes

Program Director
carolyn.sykes@cs.org.au

Taye Morris

Program Manager
taye.morris@cs.org.au

Simon Jones

Senior Advisor
simon.jones@cs.org.au

Bridget Pecker

Senior Advisor
bridget.pecker@cs.org.au

Gillian Barber

Senior Advisor
gillian.barber@cs.org.au

Lisa White

Advisor
lisa.white@cs.org.au

Jemina Vainiomaki

Advisor
jemina.vainiomaki@cs.org.au

Alexis Katombe

Advisor
alexis.katombe@cs.org.au

Moses Choong

Advisor
moses.choong@cs.org.au

Jalal Albshara

Company Secretary (Voluntary)