About

Register

“What we do today, defines our Australia tomorrow.”

– Michael Combs, Founder & CEO, CareerSeekers and CareerTrackers

About

CareerSeekers is a non-profit organisation supporting Australia’s humanitarian entrants into professional careers. Our program provides in-depth preparation and support to both refugees and people seeking asylum who are either currently studying at university, or looking to restart their professional career in Australia.

Our program supports two distinct groups of asylum seekers and refugees:

  • Mid-career Professionals – those with tertiary qualifications and professional work experience from their country of origin, who strive to re-establish their careers in Australia. These participants undertake paid internships lasting twelve weeks that provide local experience, a local reference and help them establish a network within their chosen profession.
  • University students – full-time university students who undertake paid internships during university breaks in an effort to link their studies with practical work experience. The CareerSeekers university program aligns to existing corporate internship programs.

In 2015, Founder & CEO of CareerTrackers, Michael Combs, sought to expand the successful model he had established to support pre-professional Indigenous university students. With the establishment of CareerSeekers, corporate Australia’s focus on multicultural diversity was applied to tackle the issue of underemployment of asylum seekers and refugees.

CareerSeekers is endorsed as an Item 1 Deductible Gift Recipient organisation

CareerSeekers explained

Our Board

Michael Combs
Founder & CEO
CareerSeekers and CareerTrackers

Adam Davids
Director, Learning and Development
CareerTrackers

Gillian Folkes
Group General Manager
People and Culture, Insurance Australia Group

 

Penny Graham
Company Director
Sydney Light Rail Advisory Board

Michael Greene
Deputy Managing Partner
Norton Rose Fullbright

 

Dorothy Hoddinott
Former Principal
Holroyd High School

David Matthews
CEO
Greater Western Sydney Giants

Our Team

Michael Combs

Founder & CEO
michael.combs@cs.org.au

Ash Nugent

Deputy CEO
ash.nugent@cs.org.au

Heather Payne

Program Director
heather.payne@cs.org.au

Milca Villarrubia

Executive Assistant
milca@cs.org.au

Bridget Pecker

Senior Advisor
bridget.pecker@cs.org.au

Simon Jones

Advisor
simon.jones@cs.org.au

Carolyn Sykes

Advisor
carolyn.sykes@cs.org.au

Gillian Barber

Advisor
gillian.barber@cs.org.au